Memoirs of a Pilgrim

Hike

Spring Wildflower Hike during Sunset at Coyote Wall Trail along the Columbia River Gorge

April 15th 2021

The gloomy, gray skies cleared and brought fields of blooming wildflowers. The trail loops around and climbs up exposed fields, yielding views of the Columbia River Gorge and Mt Hood.


RECAP VIDEO

TRAIL REPORT

It. Was. Hot. And it was only in the 70's while I was there. I'm pretty sensitive to heat, but still, it's a pretty brutal climb with the sun beating on you on the clear days.

The trail is part of a network of trails, so there are several options to get to the top, the Alltrails map was handy to making sure I was taking my intended route (it can be downloaded to your phone with their app). I did a loop where I went up along the eastern side and went down the western side. That way I'd have the best view for the sunset!

It is steep, but not the worst. There are spots where the dirt/rocks/gravel were pretty loose, so it can be slippery going down. Definitely have shoes with good traction, most hiking-specific shoes are fine.

Be warned, there are also lots of ticks! They didn't bother me, but they loved my very fluffy dog. I was picking them off for a couple of days after the hike. I also saw a snake, it likely was a harmless, nonvenomous one. But there are rattlesnakes in the area, so just be cautious of your surroundings!

This trail gets SUPER busy, so if you're wanting more solidtude its best to go mid-week. Or you can do a sunrise or sunset hike and have even more of the trail to yourself! Just be sure to have headlamps and something nice to drink :)

PHOTOS

01 coyote wall 02 coyote wall 03 coyote wall 04 coyote wall 05 coyote wall 06 coyote wall 07 coyote wall 08 coyote wall 09 coyote wall 10 coyote wall 11 coyote wall 12 coyote wall 13 coyote wall 14 coyote wall 15 coyote wall 16 coyote wall 17 coyote wall 18 coyote wall 19 coyote wall 21 coyote wall 22 coyote wall 23 coyote wall 24 coyote wall 25 coyote wall 26 coyote wall 27 coyote wall 28 coyote wall 29 coyote wall 30 coyote wall 31 coyote wall 32 coyote wall 33 coyote wall 34 coyote wall 35 coyote wall 36 coyote wall 37 coyote wall

ADDITIONAL LINKS